Make the call
Do you know the answer?
I received an email asking about a MLB rule. I found the question interesting and was
wondering what you guys think.
Does a runner need to retouch the base he’s currently occupying after every foul ball
that’s not caught? This is what I came up with.
5.09 (e) A foul ball is not caught; runners return. The umpire shall not put the ball
in play until all runners have retouched their bases.
It has always been my understanding that after a foul ball, all runners need to return
to the vicinity of their originating base. Once the pitcher gets set on the mound and the
umpire calls play ball, any runner is subject to be picked off. The thing is that I think
an umpire should wait until all runners have returned before calling play ball. So in
theory this should never happen.